Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT)

Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT)

Availability of the IMRT- IGRT implies a change in dimension, shape and intensity of the radiation beam to comply fully with the size, shape and location of the patient’s tumor. The system uses a patented binary multi-leaf collimator which divides the fan-shaped radiation beam into beamlets i.e. thin beams.

The intensity modulated radiation therapy is one of the most effective and latest tools in combating benign and malignant neoplasms; this method is able to impact even inoperable or hard-to-reach-tumors.

The method consists in processing of the tumor with the precisely calculated radiation dose (from 2 to 5 Gray in a session). The procedure is preceded by the careful diagnostic test of the tumor by means of the computerized tomography and a detailed focusing of the guided radiation beams.

With the aid of the computerized imaging, the doctor establishes the tumor’s distinct limits separating it from healthy tissues. This makes it possible to avoid the irradiation of the critical organs and tissues located adjacent to the tumor. The side effects and complications typical to the radiation therapy are kept in this method to the minimum, and the period of the patient’s rehabilitation is many-fold shorter than in the conventional radiation therapy.

Before an IMRT-procedure, a three-dimensional (3-D) model of the tumor is created, with subsequent simulation of the radiation process. The calculation of angles for irradiation of tumors, the radiation doses and determination of other processes is performed by the computer. During the irradiation process, the computerized system continuously monitors the patient’s condition, the process of the tumor’s irradiation and regulates the radiation’s intensity.

The availability of the IMRT – IGRT system presupposes changes in the size, shape and intensity of the radiation beam to precisely conform to the size, shape and location of the patient’s tumor. The system uses a patented binary multi-leaf collimator that divides the radiation beam into beamlets, i.e. thin beams. Every beamlet is controlled separately making it possible to precisely manipulate the dose distribution in the target.

The binary collimator and the spiral mode of the dose delivery provide for the optimal formation of the dose distribution inside the patient’s body.  








Back to the list

Вверх

Лучевая терапия с модулированной интенсивностью – IMRT (Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy)

Лучевая терапия с модулированной интенсивностью (IMRT) – это один из наиболее эффективных и современных методов борьбы с доброкачественными и онкологическими новообразованиями, который способен воздействовать даже на опухоли не поддающиеся хирургическому лечению или расположенные в труднодоступных местах.

Метод заключается в обработке опухоли точно рассчитанной дозой радиоактивного излучения (от 2 до 5 грей за сеанс). Процедуру предваряет тщательная диагностика опухоли средствами компьютерной томографии и детальная фокусировка управляемых пучков излучения.

С помощью компьютерного визуализирования врач выявляет четкие границы новобразования, отделяющие его от здоровых тканей, это позволяет избежать облучения критических органов и тканей, которые расположены вблизи с опухолью. Побочные эффекты и осложнения, характерные для лучевой терапии, при этом методе сведены к минимуму, а период реабилитации пациента в разы короче, чем при традиционной внешней лучевой терапии.

Перед процедурой IMRT проводится построение трехмерной модели опухоли с последующим моделированием процесса облучения. Вычисление углов обработки новообразований, дозы облучение и определение других процессов вычисляется компьютеризировано. В процессе облучения компьютерная система непрерывно следит за состоянием пациента, за ходом обработки опухоли и регулирует интенсивность излучения.

Наличие системы IMRT- IGRT предполагает изменение размера, формы и интенсивности пучка излучения для полного соответствия размеру, форме и расположению опухоли пациента. Система использует запатентованный бинарный многолепестковый коллиматор, который делит веерный пучок излучения на бимлеты, то есть тонкие лучи. Каждый бимлет управляется индивидуально, что позволяет с высокой точностью манипулировать распределением дозы в мишени.

Бинарный коллиматор и спиральный режим подведения дозы излучения обеспечивают оптимальное формирование дозового распределения внутри тела пациента.